MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS November 17, 2016

The Board of Park Commissioners held their regular meeting on November 17, 2016 in the Tom Baker meeting room of the City/County Building. President Munson called the meeting to order at 5:15 pm. Commissioners Jeske, Starck, Schwartz, and Beattie were present.

Commissioner Schwartz moved approval of the agenda as presented. Commissioner Stack seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Jeske, Starck, Schwartz, Beattie and President Munson. The nays being none, the motion carried.

John Bollinger with the Bismarck Larks and Jack Marquart from a table tennis group appeared before the Board as part of the Featured Partners and Programs.

Wendy Van Duyne from Bartlett and West appeared before the Board to provide an update on the Missouri Valley Complex planning process.

Facilities and Programs Director Kevin Klipfel provided an update regarding the Workforce Safety and Insurance annual audit process. The Park District has been recommended to receive a 25% discount on the premiums due to successful participation in a variety of programs.

President Munson reviewed the following items on the consent agenda:

- Review and approval of October 20, 2016 Board meeting minutes.
- Request to amend the February 18, 2016 Board meeting minutes due to a typo that was found.
- Review and approval of Frances Leach High Prairie Arts & Science Complex occupancy agreements with Gateway to Science and the Central Dakota Children's Choir
- Request Board authorization to call for bids on the 2017 Activity Schedule, maintenance equipment and golf cars and fertilizer. These will be brought to the Board for final consideration in 2017.
- Request Board authorization to request proposals for Capital Ice Complex project financing.
- Consideration of corporate golf fee structure.

Commissioner Schwartz moved to approve all but the last two items on the consent agenda. Commissioner Starck seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Jeske, Starck, Schwartz, Beattie and President Munson. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Finance Director Kathy Feist provided additional detail regarding the proposed request to seek financing for the Capital Ice Complex project. Commissioner Schwartz moved approval to seek proposals. Commissioner Jeske seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Jeske, Starck, Schwartz, Beattie and President Munson. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Facilities and Programs Director Kevin Klipfel provided additional information regarding the proposed corporate golf fee structure. Commissioner Beattie moved to approve the structure as

presented. Commissioner Starck seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Jeske, Starck, Schwartz, Beattie and President Munson. The nays being none, the motion carried.

The following firms submitted proposals to the Park District in response to request for architectural, engineering and planning services beginning after Board approval through December 31, 2018.

Engineers	Architects
KLJ	Ubl Design Group
Ulteig	Architectural Concepts, Inc.
WSB and Associates	ICON Architectural Group
Houston Engineering, Inc.	Joseph P. Larrivee Architects
Apex Engineering Group	Ritterbush-Ellig-Hulsing
Peaks to Plains Design	J2Studio Architecture + Design, PC
Swenson, Hagen & Co.	JLG Architects
Bartlett and West	
Interstate Engineering	<u>Other</u>
Wenck Associates	Obermiller Nelson Engineering (ONE)
AE2S	Prairie Engineering
Sambatek, Inc.	CW Structural
West Plains Engineering, Inc. (WPE)	SRF Consulting Group
	Hoisington Koegler Group, Inc. (HKGi)

Commissioner Jeske moved to approve the list as presented. Commissioner Starck seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Jeske, Starck, Schwartz, Beattie and President Munson. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Commissioner Beattie moved to approve the bills for payment with checks 188352 to 188581 and 384245 to 385035. Commissioner Schwartz seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Jeske, Starck, Schwartz, Beattie and President Munson. The nays being none, the motion carried.

President Munson congratulated the following Park District full-time employees for receiving years of service awards:

5-Year Awards10-Year Awards15-Year AwardPat MillerRod KnutsonDan Sedevie

Landa Boyd Riley Merkel Martha Willand Paula Redmann

25-Year Award35-Year awardMike PageKevin Olson

In addition, he thanked all Park District employees for their work throughout the year.

The next meeting will be held on December 15, 2016 at 5:15 pm at the Tom Baker Meeting Room.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:10 pm.