## MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS June 9, 2011

The Board of Park Commissioners held a special meeting on June 9, 2011 in the Tom Baker meeting room of the City/County Building. President Beattie called the meeting to order at 5:15 pm. Commissioners Jeske, Schwartz, O'Brien and DeForest were present.

Commissioner DeForest moved to approve the agenda as presented. Commissioner O'Brien seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Jeske, Schwartz, O'Brien, DeForest and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

President Beattie stated that the Board received two proposals from firms to assist with the search process to fill the Director of Parks and Recreation position. The consultant's listed hourly rates with the fees not to exceed \$16,582 and \$19,900.

Commissioner O'Brien stated that due to the cost of the consultant services and the flooding in Bismarck, Assistant Director Bina would be the best candidate for the job and would be the best person to continue to lead the Park District. Commissioner O'Brien moved to hire Randy Bina as Director of Parks and Recreation effective July 1, 2011. Commissioner Schwartz seconded the motion.

Board discussion included conducting a market review of the Director's position, completing or re-developing the job description, and whether to continue the interim status for a defined period of time and then consider Randy Bina for appointment as Director. With no further discussion, the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Schwartz, O'Brien, DeForest and President Beattie. Nays: Commissioner Jeske. The motion carried.

Commissioner DeForest moved approval to have Paula Redmann, Community Relations Manager, to provide the Board with market summary of Director's positions by contacting comparable park districts or departments in the state and region. This information will then be used by the Board to determine the final range and starting salary for Randy Bina. Commissioner O'Brien seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Jeske, Schwartz, O'Brien, DeForest and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

The regular June Board meeting will be rescheduled from June 16<sup>th</sup> to June 23<sup>rd</sup> at 5:15 pm in the Tom Baker Meeting Room. The meeting was adjourned at 5:40 pm.