## MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS June 18, 2015

The Board of Park Commissioners held their regular meeting on June 18, 2015 in the Tom Baker meeting room of the City/County Building. President Jeske called the meeting to order at 5:15 pm. Commissioners Schwartz, Beattie, Starck, and Munson were present.

Commissioner Beattie moved approval of the agenda as presented. Commissioner Schwartz seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Schwartz, Beattie, Starck, Munson and President Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Dan Donlin, city of Bismarck's Chief of Police, appeared before the Board as the Featured Partner and Program.

Commissioner Schwartz reviewed the second round the Matching Grant applications. Commissioner Munson moved to approve the following grant funding:

		Proposed Funding
Applicant	Project Title	Recommended
Bismarck Baseball Boosters	Baseball Field Outfield Fence	
	Enhancement (Tatley North and	\$3,600.00
	South, and Haaland Fields)	
Bismarck Kiwanis Club	Kiwanis Park Sign	\$2,743.00
Bismarck Rotary Club	Bismarck Rotary Arboretum	\$3,000.00
Fastrax BMX	Finish to New Track	\$5,318.90
Nishu Bowmen Archery Club	Youth Archery Targets and	\$1,962.50
	Replacement Target Screens	
Sleepy Hollow Theatre & Arts Park	Security Watch and Lights	\$4,000.00
TOTAL		\$20,624.40

Commissioner Starck seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Schwartz, Beattie, Starck, Munson and President Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Connie Hofland, Zuger Kirmis and Smith Legal Counsel, provided the Board with the second reading of the proposed updates to the Park District's ordinances. The proposed changes deal with firearms in the parks (a ND Legislative change) and the use of ATVs/UTVs/maintenance and special event vehicles on Park District property. Commissioner Schwartz approved the second reading of the updated ordinances. Commissioner Beattie seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Schwartz, Beattie, Starck, Munson and President Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried. The ordinances will be printed in <a href="The Bismarck Tribune">The Bismarck Tribune</a> on June 23, 2015 and become final three days after publication (June 26, 2015).

Jerry Woodcox and Kathleen Jones with the Burleigh County Commission requested discussions with the Park District on the District managing selected Burleigh County park facilities.

President Jeske said Commissioner Starck volunteered to serve on a committee with Park District staff and Burleigh County representatives to discuss this topic.

Greg Smith, Operations Director, reviewed the bids received to replace the Marian Park Playground. Commissioner Starck moved to approve the low bid of \$27,988 submitted by BC6 Builders and Little Tikes Company for the play equipment and the low bid of \$2,962 submitted by My Turn Playsystems for wood fiber surfacing. Commissioner Munson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Schwartz, Beattie, Starck, Munson and President Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

President Jeske reviewed the consent agenda which consisted of the following:

- May 21, 2015 Board meeting minutes for review and approval.
- Authorization to apply for a Garrison Diversion Conservancy Grant for Kiwanis Park Playground.
- Professional Consultant Agreement with KLJ for a neighborhood park development on Northrup Avenue.
- Professional Consultant Agreement with UBL Design Services for development of floor and refrigeration room renovations at the VFW Sports Center Rink 1 and Curling Rink.
- 2015-2017 ice use agreement and advertising agreement with the Bismarck Sports Group for use of the VFW Sports Center.
- Consideration of additional easement requests for city of Bismarck's Southport Lift Station Project, including additional sanitary sewer easements and temporary construction easements.

Commissioner Beattie moved approval of the consent agenda as presented. Commissioner Munson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Schwartz, Beattie, Starck, Munson and President Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Commissions Munson moved to approve bills for payment with checks 182627 to 182889 and 367979 to 368736. Commissioner Starck seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Schwartz, Beattie, Starck, Munson and President Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

The next Board meeting will be held July 16, 2015 at 5:15 pm at the Tom Baker Meeting Room. The meeting was adjourned at 5:45 pm.