MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS September 18, 2014

The Board of Park Commissioners held their regular meeting on September 18, 2014 in the Tom Baker meeting room of the City/County Building. President Jeske called the meeting to order at 5:15 pm. Commissioners Schwartz, Beattie, Starck, and Munson were present.

Commissioner Beattie moved approval of the agenda as presented. Commissioner Munson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Schwartz, Beattie, Starck, Munson and President Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

The ND Parks and Recreation Association annual conference was recently held in Minot, ND. Operations Director Greg Smith provided information about the Organization Citation award that was presented to the Missouri Valley Model Aero Club. Representatives from the club were not able to attend the meeting in Minot so President Jeske presented the award to Lloyd Rittenbach and Ted Stockert.

Kevin Klipfel, Facilities and Programs Director, provided information to the Board about two additional awards received by Bismarck Parks and Recreation District. The first was July Celebration which received the Innovative Programming Award and the Municipal Ballpark project which received the Golden Egg Award.

Chandra Schmidt and Tara Schoenwald from the Bismarck Horse Club appeared before the Board as part of the Featured Partners and Programs.

President Jeske reviewed the following items that were placed on the consent agenda:

- Approval of August 21, 2014 Board Meeting minutes.
- Authorization to Request Qualifications for Architect, Engineering and Planning Services -This is a process that has been completed every two years and the qualified consultants would be in effect until December 31, 2016.

Commissioner Beattie moved approval of the consent agenda as presented. Commissioner Starck seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Schwartz, Beattie, Starck, Munson and President Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Mike Manstrom with Dougherty & Company presented the 2014-01 Improvement District bond sale. Commissioner Munson moved to approve the Resolution Creating the Fund of an Improvement District, Providing for and Appropriating Special Assessments for the Support and Maintenance of said Fund, and Authorizing the Issuance of Improvement Warrants Thereon and the Resolution Authorizing the Issuance of \$3,500,000 Refunding Improvement Bonds, Series 2014, Prescribing the Terms and Covenants Thereof, and Creating a Fund for the Payment Thereof. Commissioner Starck seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Schwartz, Beattie, Starck, Munson and President Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Commissioner Starck moved to approve bills for payment with checks 179933 and 180374 and 360712 to 361514. Commissioner Munson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Schwartz, Beattie, Starck, Munson and President Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

At 6:00 pm, Kathy Feist, Finance Director, provided a review of the 2015 budget as introduced at the August Board meeting. For the record, it was stated that the Park District received three written comments opposing the proposed tax levy. President Jeske then opened the public hearing to those who were opposed to or had concerns with the proposed budget. Rod Hammer and Ray Anderson individually addressed the Board, stating that the letter they received from the Park District in regard to the proposed budget was confusing. Once they better understood the budget process, they both stated support of the Park District.

President Jeske then opened the public hearing to those who were in support of the budget. Blake Crosby appeared before the Board and stated that he agreed that the letter mandated by the ND legislature is confusing. He also stated that he believes Bismarck has good parks and they are a positive amenity to the community.

Seeing no additional comments, President Jeske closed the public hearing.

Commissioner Starck moved to approve the 2015 budget as presented. Commissioner Munson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Schwartz, Starck, Munson and President Jeske. Nays: Commissioner Beattie. The motion carried.

Commissioner Munson moved to approve the second reading of the budget resolution and tax levy. Commissioner Beattie seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Schwartz, Beattie, Starck, Munson and President Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

The commissioners will be going on a park tour on September 25, 2014, starting at 4:00 pm. The next regular Board meeting will be held October 9, 2014 at 5:15 at the Tom Baker Meeting Room. The meeting was adjourned at 6:23 pm.