## MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS May 18, 2023

The Board of Park Commissioners held their regular meeting on May 18, 2023 in the Tom Baker meeting room of the City/County Building. President Gilbertson called the meeting to order at 5:15 pm. Commissioners Jeske, Jordan, Odell and Zimmerman were present.

Commissioner Jordan moved to approve the agenda as presented. Commissioner Jeske seconded the motion, and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Jeske, Jordan, Odell, Zimmerman and President Gilbertson. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Richard Fleckenstein with the Super Slide Amusement Park and Stuart Sipma from the Bismarck Mandan Horseshoe Pitches Association appeared as the Featured Partners and Programs.

Facility Specialist Katrina Hanenberg presented the Board with the USTA Northern Member Organization of the Year Award which was received by staff at the United States Tennis Association Northern Awards & Hall of Fame Gala.

Executive Director Klipfel provided an update on the VFW Sports Center expansion project.

Community Relations Manager Dana Schaar Jahner reviewed the draft 2024-2026 strategic plan. Commissioner Jeske moved to approve the plan as presented. Commissioner Jordan seconded the motion, and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Jeske, Jordan, Odell, Zimmerman and President Gilbertson. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Finance Director Kathy Feist reviewed the timeline for development and approval of the 2024 budget.

Commissioner Zimmerman approved the following items on the consent agenda:

- Consideration of April 20, 2023 Board meeting minutes with one spelling correction in paragraph four.
- Consideration of the following agreements:
  - o ActiveNet for the recreation management software system
  - o AE2S agreement for Hay Creek retaining wall repair project
- Request Board authorization to apply for electrical grants
- Consideration of BSC Aquatic and Wellness Center concessions agreement addendum with a corrected date

Commissioner Odell seconded the motion, and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Jeske, Jordan, Odell, Zimmerman and President Gilbertson. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Commissioner Jordan moved to approve bills for payment with checks 407685 to 407687 and 211946 to 212209 along with bank drafts DFT001246 to DFT001257, EFTs 2349 to 2388 and direct deposits 61178 to 61875. Commissioner Zimmerman seconded the motion, and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Jeske, Jordan, Odell, Zimmerman and President Gilbertson. The nays being none, the motion carried.

The next regular Board meeting will be held June 15, 2023 at 5:15 pm in the Tom Baker Meeting Room. The meeting was adjourned at 5:56 pm.