MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS June 11, 2020

The Board of Park Commissioners held their regular meeting on June 11, 2020 in the Tom Baker meeting room of the City/County Building. President Beattie called the meeting to order at 5:15 pm. Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, and Jeske were present. Commissioner Munson moved to approve the agenda as presented. Commissioner Jeske seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Recreation Supervisor Spencer Aune provided information to the Board about July Celebration.

Brad Krogstad from KLJ provided updates on the New Generations Park Parking Lot Expansion project, the development of Elk Ridge Park as well as the Cottonwood Park Softball Complex Expansion and Trail Project.

Jeff Ubl with Ubl Design Group provided an update on the VFW Sports Center, Lower Lobby Renovation project.

Commissioner Jeske reviewed the 2020 Matching Grant applications for round two along with funding recommendations. Commissioner Zimmerman moved to approve the following projects:

Applicant	Project Title	Proposed Funding Recommended
Bismarck Gymnastics Academy	In Ground Trampoline Bed	\$1,537.00
Sleepy Hollow Theatre & Arts Park	Flagpole at Sleepy Hollow	\$3,250.00
Fastrax BMX	2020 Facilities Upgrades and Maintenance	\$6,607.50
BisMarket	BisMarket Flag Banner	\$168.50
Dakota Junior Golf Association	Sheila Schafer Mini Links Tee Mats	\$2,500.00

Commissioner Munson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

The Park Board discussed the results of the city of Bismarck Measure #1 election results in which the ½ cent sales tax to be used for the funding of a community recreation complex was defeated. The Board members expressed their support to continue to look at the project.

President Beattie reviewed the following items on the consent agenda:

- Consideration of May 21, 2020 Board meeting minutes.
- Authorization to seek refinancing of municipal leases.

Commissioner Gilbertson moved to approve the consent agenda as presented. Commissioner Munson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Commissioner Jeske moved to approve the bills for payment with checks 406629 to 406667 and 201461 to 201814 along with bank drafts DFT000733 to DFT000739, EFTs 822 to 862 and direct deposits 27763 to 27974. Commissioner Gilbertson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Vice President Jeske recognized President Beattie for his years of service on the Park Board by presenting him with a glass memento and the following citation:

Whereas, Brian Beattie, in his capacity as a member of the Board of Park Commissioners since 2008, has served the residents of the City of Bismarck in a most exceptional and splendid manner, and

Whereas, he has provided leadership that has greatly assisted in the growth and development of parks and recreation opportunities; and

Whereas, Brian Beattie has given freely of his time and special talents to the Park District of the City of Bismarck for these many years, greatly contributing to the cause of good government and a better community, and

Whereas, it is fitting and proper that such public service be recognized, publicly proclaimed and made part of the permanent record of the Bismarck Parks and Recreation District;

Now, therefore, be it resolved by the Park District of the City of Bismarck and on behalf of the citizens of Bismarck, on this 11th day of June 2020, extend to Brian Beattie sincere thanks and grateful appreciation for service.

President Beattie thanked the citizens of Bismarck, the Park Board members, Executive Director Bina, and current and former Park District staff for his time on the Board.

President Beattie adjourned the meeting sine die.

Connie Hofland, Legal Counsel, asked Commissioners-Elect Wayne Munson and Andrew Jordan to appear before the Board. She read the following oath of office:

"Commissioners-Elect Wayne Munson and Andrew Jordan of Bismarck, ND, do you solemnly swear that you will support the Constitution of the United States, and the Constitution of the State of North Dakota and that you will faithfully discharge the duties of the office of the Bismarck Board of Park Commissioners according to the best of your ability, so help you God?"

They replied, "I do."

"You are hereby installed as a member of the Board of Park Commissioners this 11th day of June 2020, Bismarck, North Dakota." The commissioners then took their seat at the Board table.

Connie Hofland, Park District Legal Counsel, opened the floor for nominations for President of the Park Board. Commissioner Munson nominated Commissioner Jeske. Commissioner Gilbertson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jordan, Munson and Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

The meeting of the Board of Park Commissioners was reconvened. President Jeske opened the floor for nominations for Vice President. Commissioner Gilbertson nominated Commissioner Munson. Commissioner Jordan seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jordan, Munson and Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

President Jeske asked for the appointment for Clerk of the Park Board. Commissioner Gilbertson nominated Executive Director Bina. Commissioner Munson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jordan, Munson and Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Legal Counsel Connie Hofland then asked Executive Director Bina to step forward while she read the following oath of office for clerk.

"Do you solemnly swear that you will support the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of North Dakota; and that you will faithfully discharge the duties of the office of the clerk of the Bismarck Board of Park Commissioners according to the best of your ability, so help you God."

Executive Director Bina replied, "I do."

"You are hereby installed as the clerk of the Board of Park Commissioners this 11th day of June 20202, Bismarck, North Dakota."

Commissioner Munson moved to appoint Zuger Kirmis and Smith as the Park District's legal counsel. Commissioner Gilbertson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jordan, Munson and Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

The following management team assignments were made:

- Administration President Jeske
- Operations Commissioners Munson and Zimmerman
- Facilities and Programs Commissioners Jordan and Gilbertson

Committee and liaison representations were also made for the commissioners:

- Bismarck Recreation Council President Jeske
- Forestry Advisory Board Commissioner Zimmerman

- Community Bowl Authority President Jeske
- BSC Aquatic and Wellness Center Advisory Committee Commissioner Gilbertson
- Sleepy Hollow Park Liaison Committee Commissioner Munson
- Intergovernmental Committee Commissioner Jordan with Commissioner Munson serving as an alternate

The next Board meeting will be held July 16, 2020 at 5:15 pm in the Tom Baker Meeting Room. The meeting was adjourned at 6:37 pm.