## MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS July 19, 2018

The Board of Park Commissioners held their regular meeting on July 19, 2018 in the Tom Baker meeting room of the City/County Building. President Beattie called the meeting to order at 5:15 pm. Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske and President Beattie were present.

Commissioner Munson moved to approve the agenda as presented. Commissioner Gilbertson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Thomas Wheeling and Greg Birnbaum from the Bismarck Aquastorm appeared before the Board for the Featured Partner and Program.

Facilities and Programs Director Kevin Klipfel provided a review of the July Celebration events for the Board.

Steve Chuppe, capital campaign co-chair for the Breaking New Ground campaign provided a fundraising update for the board.

Finance Director Kathy Feist provided an updated review of the 2017 Audit and Financial Statements. Commissioner Jeske moved to accept the 2017 Audit and Financial Statements as presented. Commissioner Munson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Brett Gurholt from KLJ provided the Board with updates on the South Washington Street Shared Use Path Extension and the 2018 Improvement District. The improvement district includes the following units:

- Unit 1 Sleepy Hollow Parking Lot Improvements
- Unit 2 Santa Fe Trail Reconstruction
- Unit 3 Sertoma Park East Trail and Clem Kelley Trail Rehabilitation
- Unit 4 Horizon Park Phase II Improvements

Susan Hazelett from Apex Engineering Group reviewed the bids received for the General Sibley Park septic system and absorption field project. Commissioner Munson moved to accept the low bid of \$39,507.72 provided by Prairie View Excavating. Commissioner Jeske seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

President Beattie reviewed the items on the consent agenda which included:

- Review and approval of June 21 and June 28, 2018 Board meeting minutes.
- Approval of pledge of assets.
- Request authorization to re-bid vault toilet replacement at General Sibley Park

Commissioner Jeske moved to approve the consent agenda as presented. Commissioner Zimmerman seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners

Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Finance Director Kathy Feist reviewed the proposed 2019 operating budget. Staff also requests that the recommended fee structure for fencing be effective September 1, 2018 with the start of the new fencing program season. Upon conclusion of the overview, the following motions were made:

- Commissioner Zimmerman moved to approve the introduction of the 2019 operating budget as presented. Commissioner Munson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.
- Commissioner Zimmerman moved to approve the 2019 budget resolution as presented. Commissioner Gilbertson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.
- Commissioner Zimmerman moved to approve the preliminary budget statement for 2019 and set the public hearing for September 20, 2018 at 5:15 pm. Commissioner Jeske seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Commissioner Munson moved approval of bills for payment with checks 398244 to 398967 and 194398 to 194824 along with bank drafts DFT0000298 to DFT0000314 and direct deposits 14194 to 14707. Commissioner Jeske seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

The next regular Board meeting will be held on August 16, 2018 at 5:15 pm at the Tom Baker Meeting Room. The meeting was adjourned at 6:19 pm.