MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS December 20, 2018

The Board of Park Commissioners held their regular meeting on December 20, 2018 in the Tom Baker meeting room of the City/County Building. President Beattie called the meeting to order at 5:15 pm. Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske and President Beattie were present.

Commissioner Munson moved to approve the agenda as presented. Commissioner Jeske seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske, and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Finance Director Kathy Feist reviewed the proposed 2019-01 Improvement District. President Beattie then opened the public hearing on the proposed improvement district, noting that one written comment opposing the improvement district had been received. He asked anyone opposing the improvement district to appear before the Board. Seeing none, he asked for any in favor of the improvement district to appear before the Board. Steve Chuppe, Danielle Borseth and Matt Liudahl all appeared before the Board in support of the proposed improvement district. President Beattie then closed the public hearing.

Commissioner Jeske moved to approve the Petition for the 2019-01 Improvement District. Commissioner Zimmerman seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske, and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Commissioner Munson moved to approve the resolution Determining Sufficiency of Petition. Commissioner Gilbertson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske, and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Commissioner Gilbertson moved to approve the Resolution Approving Engineer's Plans, Specifications and Estimates for the 2019-01 Improvement District. Commissioner Munson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske, and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Commissioner Gilbertson moved to approve the Resolution Directing Advertisement for Bids. Commissioner Jeske seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske, and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Facilities and Programs Director Kevin Klipfel provided the Board with an update on the Facilities Master Planning Study that is being conducted.

Commissioner Munson moved to approve the transfer of \$328,000 from the general fund capital improvement fund to the park improvement fund for the New Generations park improvements which include a splash pad, community building and outdoor hockey and pleasure skating rinks

as requested by Finance Director Kathy Feist. Commissioner Jeske seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske, and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

President Beattie provided an overview of the Intergovernmental Meeting that was held on November 29, 2018.

Commissioner Gilbertson moved to approve the professional consultant list that will cover December 20, 2018 – December 31, 2020. The list included the following:

AE2S EAPC Architects Engineers

Apex Engineering Group J2 Studio Architecture + Design, PC

Houston Engineering, Inc. Ritterbush-Ellig-Hulsing Architects – Planners

KLJ Ubl Design Group Mountain Plains LLC CWSTRUCTURAL

Prairie Engineering PC Stantec

Obermiller Nelson Engineering

Commissioner Munson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske, and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Executive Director Bina reviewed a proposed 2020-2022 strategic plan process and timeframe. Commissioner Munson approved the process and timeframe as outlined. Commissioner Jeske seconded and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske, and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

President Beattie reviewed the consent agenda items which included:

- Review and approval of November 15, 2018 Board meeting minutes.
- Consideration of senior rates for 2019 green fee packages.
- Authorization to call for bids on the following projects:
 - o Municipal Country Club office addition.
 - o Fore Seasons Center renovation.
 - o Call for bids to replace a pickup.

Commissioner Jeske moved to approve the consent agenda as presented. Commissioner Munson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske, and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

President Beattie summarized Executive Director Bina's annual evaluation for 2018 provided by each of the Board members. Commissioner Zimmerman recommended a 3% merit increase for Executive Director Bina starting January 1, 2019. Commissioner Jeske seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske, and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Commissioner Jeske moved to approve bills for payment with checks 400794 to 401263 and 196313 to 196552 along with bank drafts DFT000383 to DFT000409, EFTs 45 – 88 and direct deposits 16791 to 17557. Commissioner Gilbertson seconded the motion and the voting went as

follows: Ayes: Commissioners Munson, Gilbertson, Zimmerman, Jeske and President Beattie. The nays being none, the motion carried.

The next regular Board meeting will be held January 17, 2019 at 5:15 pm at the Tom Baker Meeting Room. The meeting was adjourned at 5:53 pm.