MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS July 16, 2020

The Board of Park Commissioners held their regular meeting on July 16, 2020 in the Tom Baker meeting room of the City/County Building. President Jeske called the meeting to order at 5:15 pm. Commissioners Gilbertson, Jordan, and Munson were present. Commissioner Zimmerman was absent.

Commissioner Gilbertson moved to approve the agenda as presented. Commissioner Munson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Gilbertson, Jordan, Munson, and President Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

John Bollinger, General Manager of the Bismarck Larks, appeared before the Board as the one of the Featured Partners and Programs. Recreation Specialist Ethan Eberle also appeared to discuss the ND Senior Babe Ruth AA State Tournament that will be held in Bismarck August 4-8, 2020.

Facilities and Programs Director Kevin Klipfel reviewed the one bid received to operate the Capital Ice Complex concession stand. Commissioner Munson moved to accept the bid of 17% provided by the Bismarck Hockey Boosters and the proposed agreement for the operation. Commissioner Gilbertson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Gilbertson, Jordan, Munson, and President Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Finance Director Kathy Feist reviewed refinancing options for the Park District. Commissioner Jordan moved to approve the Resolution Authorizing Sale Park District Facilities Revenue Bonds, Series 2020 which would include the financing of the construction of the Park Shop Maintenance Facility as well as refinancing the Capital Ice Complex construction lease for a total of \$6,200,000. Commissioner Munson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Gilbertson, Jordan, Munson, and President Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Finance Director Kathy Feist provided an overview of the proposed 2021 operating budget. After discussion, Commissioner Munson moved to increase the full-time employee merit increase from 2.5% to 3%. Commissioner Gilbertson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Gilbertson, Jordan, and Munson. Nays: President Jeske. The motion carried.

Commissioner Munson moved to increase the compensation for Park Board Commissioners from \$1,300 per year to \$2,600 per year. Commissioner Jordan seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Gilbertson, Jordan, Munson, and President Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Commissioner Gilbertson moved to approve the introduction of the 2021 operating budget as presented with the changes listed above. Commissioner Jordan seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Gilbertson, Jordan, Munson, and President Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Commissioner Munson moved to approve the 2021 budget resolution. Commissioner Gilbertson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Gilbertson, Jordan, Munson, and President Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Commissioner Gilbertson moved to approve the preliminary budget statement for 2021 and set the public hearing for September 17, 2020 at 5:15 pm. Commissioner Jordan seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Gilbertson, Jordan, Munson, and President Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Operations Director David Mayer provided an update on the request to transfer ownership of the Joann Hetzel Memorial 4-H Building to the Park District and the progress to date of the Custer Park History Committee.

President Jeske reviewed the following items on the consent agenda:

- Review and approval of June 11, 2020 Board meeting minutes.
- Authorization to call for bids to expand the Pioneer Park parking lot.

Commissioner Gilbertson moved to approve the consent agenda. Commissioner Munson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Gilbertson, Jordan, Munson, and President Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

Commissioner Gilbertson moved to approve the bills for payment with checks 406668 to 406936 and 201815 to 202314 along with bank drafts DFT000740 to DFT000764, EFTs 863 to 904 and direct deposits 27975 to 29257. Commissioner Munson seconded the motion and the voting went as follows: Ayes: Commissioners Gilbertson, Jordan, Munson, and President Jeske. The nays being none, the motion carried.

The next regular Board meeting will be held August 20, 2020 at 5:15 pm in the Tom Baker Meeting Room. The meeting was adjourned at 6:09 pm.