Bismarck Board of Park Commissioners Brief for June 16, 2022

Board Reorganizes, Elects Gilbertson President and Zimmerman Vice President

Mike Wolf presented Bismarck Parks and Recreation District (BPRD) with the James Farrell Award of Excellence from USA Softball for the 2021 Men’s Class D Northern National Tournament, which was held Labor Day weekend. BPRD Recreation Specialist Ethan Eberle served as tournament director, and Mike Wolf was umpire-in-chief.

BPRD Recreation Specialist Spencer Aune highlighted activities that will be offered during July Celebration, a month-long event celebrating National Park and Recreation Month.

City of Bismarck Engineer Gabe Schell shared details about a potential Pioneer Park Embankment Project related to Tyler Coulee Stormwater Improvements, which are expected to be completed in 2023. The goal of the embankment project is to mitigate flooding in Pioneer Park, which frequently impacts the playgrounds, sand volleyball courts and trees. The Board authorized staff to continue to work with the City of Bismarck on the project.

The Board approved the re-bid for the Hay Creek Trail Rehabilitation from Knife River Corporation in the amount of $318,217.61.

The Board rejected the bid for the Elk Ridge Park Pickleball Court Fence due to cost and authorized rebidding the project.

The Board approved Matching Grants in Round 2 to the following organizations:

  • Capital Curling Club
  • BisMarket
  • Bismarck Mandan Lacrosse Association
  • Step Into the Batter’s Box Campaign Committee

The Board approved changes to the Accounting Policy and Procedures Handbook and the Human Resource Policy and Procedure Handbook.

The Board accepted the withdrawal of the bid for the Tatley-Eagles Warming House roofing project from Nuss Construction and awarded it to L&L Brendel Construction, the next lowest bidder.

The Board authorized staff to apply for two Transportation Alternative grants for fiscal year 2025. The Board approved selection of AE2S as consultant for the Hay Creek Trail Retaining Wall project and EAPC as consultant for the Bismarck Municipal Ballpark Videoboard and Scoreboard. The Board authorized staff to call for bids for the Municipal Ballpark project and Marian Park improvements.

Newly elected board members Michael Gilbertson, Julie Jeske and Mark Zimmerman were sworn into office by legal counsel. Michael Gilbertson was elected president, and Mark Zimmerman was elected vice president.

The next regularly scheduled Board meeting is Thursday, July 21, 2022, at 5:15 p.m. in the Tom Baker Meeting Room.